Tag Archives: J.W. Lynne

#Review – The Unknown: A Dystopian Mystery Thriller with Twists and Turns by J.W. Lynne

The Unknown: A Dystopian Mystery Thriller with Twists and Turns by [Lynne, J.W.]

Fans of Divergent, The Hunger Games, and Stranger Things are raving about this 2019 dystopian thriller!

EIGHT CHILDREN WERE KIDNAPPED.
BUT WHY?

Eight kids, ages nine to seventeen, awaken to find that almost everything they have ever known has been stolen from them. They were ripped from their beds in the middle of the night and transported to an unfamiliar and unforgiving new world where there are strict rules, and they are punished if they refuse to obey.

As the kids grapple with their mysterious new reality, they struggle with disconcerting questions. Where in the world are they? Why were they taken away from their families? Will they ever get to go back home? And the most frightening question of all: Will this be the place where they die?


Goodreads


Amazon

BookBub

Unique twist on the dystopian genre! This is insanely thrilling! First, I need to say that I was a little worried about starting the story as it is told from most of the children’s POVs and there is a manifest at the beginning. I thought I would have to go back and forth to remember who exactly I was reading, but after the first few rounds through the characters I knew exactly whose POV I was reading without double checking. The characters formed in my head as if I were right there in the mix. These children are kidnapped one night and all thrown together in an unknown place. What is even weirder is that there are no adults. Nobody to tell them what to do or why they are there. The world building is great. As the children get to learn more about themselves and each other they are all learning about their new “prison”. There are so many unknowns with the story that will keep you turning the pages. Some aspects of the story definitely have the creep factor but absolutely gripping. I believe this story is the start of a really amazing series. There were so many things that you learn about the children and this new world that when you reach the cliffhanger you will be completely invested in the story. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT IS NEXT! This is the first book I have read by JW Lynne but I am now a fan!

J.W. Lynne

J.W. Lynne has been an avid reader practically since birth and now writes inventive young adult novels with shocking twists, turns, and surprises. In the science fiction quartet THE SKY SERIES (ABOVE THE SKY, RETURN TO THE SKY, PART OF THE SKY, and BEYOND THE SKY), an eighteen-year-old fights to survive in a dystopian future society founded on lies. In THE UNKNOWN, eight children are kidnapped in the middle of the night and wake up in a frightening and mysterious world full of secrets. The romantic contemporary novels LOST IN LOS ANGELES and LOST IN TOKYO follow a young woman’s remarkable journey after an unthinkable betrayal. KID DOCS dives into the behind-the-scenes action at a hospital where gifted young children are trained to become pint-sized doctors. In WILD ANIMAL SCHOOL, a teen spends an unforgettable summer working with elephants, tigers, bears, leopards, and lions at an exotic animal ranch.

Check out Lynne’s adventures on the bucket list website mydreamcametrue.com.